ASAP

Statement of Purpose

Arecibo Science Advocacy Partnership (ASAP) seeks to advance the scientific excellence of the research at Arecibo Observatory and to publicize its many accomplishments in astronomy, aeronomy and planetary radar.

To fulfill this mission, the ASAP Board has set these overall goals:

- Showcase the broad impact and far-reaching implications of the science currently carried out with this unique instrument;
- Promote the potential of Arecibo for groundbreaking science, and suggest the paths that will maximize it into the foreseeable future;
- Provide a forum for the Arecibo research community and enhance communication within it; and
- Mobilize the existing broad base of support for Arecibo science within the fields it serves directly, the broad scientific community, and the general public.

Dear Colleague,

ASAP is an independent group of scientists working to publicize the outstanding work done at the Arecibo Observatory, and to help assure its continued productivity and excellence. The ASAP Board (see overleaf) has been working to advance these goals and to organize ASAP.

ASAP is now ready to join together with all scientists who share its goals of advocating for continued vitality and scientific prominence of the Arecibo Observatory.

Please become a member of ASAP NOW! Join together with The community of scientists who support the Arecibo Observatory and all the critical scientific work that it done using this unique instrument.

The ASAP Board

Yes, I want to be a member of ASAP! Enclosed is my
annual membership fee:
[] Regular \$50 (suggested)
[] Student \$20 (suggested).
made out to "ASAP."
made out to 716711.
Please check one of the two following boxes:
[] I AM willing to be
publicly identified as a
member of ASAP.
[] I do NOT wish to be
publicly identified as a
member of ASAP
member of ASAI
Name:
Address:
A CONTRACTOR OF THE PARTY OF TH

Please mail your membership form and contribution check to:

ASAP Membership
Joel Weisberg,
ASAP Treasurer
105 Winona St.
Northfield, MN 55057
Email:
jweisber@carleton.edu

ASAP Board Members (2008-2009)

Hector Arce (Yale University) Herbert Carlson (AFOSR London) Frank Djuth (Geospace Research Corp.) Timothy Hankins (New Mexico Tech) Carl Heiles (University of California at Berkeley) Lyle Hoffman (*Lafayette College*) Frederick Jenet (University of Texas at Brownsville) Andrea Lommen (Franklin and Marshall College) Amy Lovell (*Agnes Scott College*) Duncan Lorimer (West Virginia University) John Mathews (Penn State University) John Meriwether (*Clemson University*) Maura McLaughlin (West Virginia *University*) Mary Putman (Columbia University) Joanna Rankin (*University of Vermont*) Snezana Stanimirovic (University of Wisconsin) Daniel Stinebring (Oberlin College) Joel Weisberg, (Carleton College) Daniel Werthimer (University of California at Berkeley

Arecibo Science Advocacy Partnership

"... for every scientist with an interest in the Observatory ..."



Website: http://www.areciboscience.org